• Create an account

Want more? Register now and get full access to our community!

air

[Guide] Refitting for SAM - Shape Atlas for Men

Posted (edited)

Refitting Guide for SAM - Shape Atlas for Men

In this guide I'll be sharing a relatively simple method to refit armors for SAM. What makes this method "simple?" Well, using this method we can create the _0.nif for almost no extra work at all, effectively halving the workload.

Quick disclaimer - I have no background in this stuff. It's completely possible that my guide may have unnecessary steps or alternatively may not be thorough enough. I am not claiming this method to be the best way to refit armors. There are many ways to do it and this is the one that works for me.

Quick disclaimer #2 - The high poly body mesh may or may not still be actively receiving updates by its author. If the number of vertices in the high poly meshes ever changes, the HighPoly.tri file in this tutorial isn't going to work and I'll have to update it. I doubt the normal SAM meshes will ever receive updates from now on so that one should be okay to use indefinitely.

With all that taken care of....Before we begin, you'll need to have some things ready:

• BodySlide and Outfit Studio (Version 4.6.0 or lower)
  • NifSkope (the latest version, 2.0 Dev 7 at the time of writing this guide)
  • SAMNormal.tri 
  • SAM body meshes
    • Specifically, you need malebody_1.nif, malehands_1.nif, and malefeet_1.nif.
      • You probably already have these installed, just copy and paste them to a new folder that you can do your work in.
      • If you don't have them installed, you can find them in the following downloads:

Once you have everything you need, we can start.

Part One: Setting Up

⭐1AYou should have an outfit you want to refit. We need to make a quick change to the mesh and the best time to do it is now. (If you're making a refit for SE, you can skip step 1A)

• Open the mesh in Nifskope.